APC affirms Oshiomhole as new national chairman

A former Governor of Edo State, Adams Oshiomhole has emerged as the new Chairman of Nigeria’s governing party, the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Jigawa State Governor, Abubakar Badaru, who is also the Chairman of the convention committee, declared Oshiomhole winner, as he announced that “he emerged unopposed.”

An aspirant for the position, Clement Ebri withdrew from the race less than 72 hours to the convention.

The convention Chairman said since there was no other contender, the delegates should affirm their choice of Oshiomhole through a voice vote, which they did, in line with the provisions of the constitution of the APC.

The other unopposed officers are ex-Governor of Ekiti State, Otunba Niyi Adebayo( Deputy National Chairman);  Babatunde Ogala(National Legal Adviser); Pastor Bankole Olajuwon (National Vice Chairman, South- West); Ibrahim Masari( National Welfare Secretary); Hon. Jack Alumba( Deputy National Welfare Secretary); Tunde Bello( National Financial Secretary and others.

The star of the day was a strong aspirant for the office of National Secretary, Mallam Kashim Imam who stepped down for the incumbent, Mai Mala Buni.

Also, the incumbent National Vice Chairman, Chief Plus Akinyelure withdrew from the race for Pastor Olajuwon.

With the development, 24 candidates out of 60 have emerged unopposed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Jigawa lawmakers slam Lagos Assembly over arrest of indigenes

The Jigawa State House of Assembly (JSHA) has expressed displeasure over the reaction of Lagos lawmakers to the arrest and subsequent release of 123 Jigawa indigenes by Lagos State Task Force operatives ...