Gov. Ayade seeeks State Assembly nod for 36 commissioner-nominees

Cross River State Governor, Prof Ben Ayade has sent names of 36 commissioner nominees to the state House of Assembly for screening.

The governor had earlier sent three names of nominees, Tanko Ashang, Peter Egba and Asuquo Ekpenyong to the House of Assembly. Ashang has been cleared and inaugurated as the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice.

The latest list contains names of mostly former commissioners who served with the governor in his first term.

Former commissioners whose names are on the list are Dr Inyang Asibong, Stella Odey, Prof Anthony Eneji, Oliver Orok, Asu Okang, Joe Abang, Eric Anderson and Dan Osim-Asu.

Other former commissioners listed are Dr. Alice Ekwu, Gabe Odu-Orji, Rosemary Archibong, Saviour Nyong, John Ulafor, Godwin Etta, among others.

The nominees cut across the 18 Local Government Areas of the state.

Reacting to the list, the Chief Press Secretary to the governor, Christian Ita, said, “I’m aware that the governor has sent a list to the House of Assembly but I cannot ascertain the names on the list being circulated in the media.”

Governor Ayade had appointed 29 commissioners in his first term. The number of current nominees is higher than the previous number.

The increase is perhaps to fill some of the new ministries Ayade said he would create.

These are the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Ministry of Defence.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Insecurity: Reps restate call for sack of service chiefs

The House of Representatives minority caucus has restated call for the sack of service chiefs over rising cases of insecurity across the country.