FG approves appointment of 25 Justices for Appeal Court

President Goodluck Jonathan on Monday approved the appointment of 25 Justices for the Court of Appeal.

This is contained in a statement signe by Mr Soji Oye, Acting director, Information of the National Judicial Council (NJC).

It said the approval followed recommendation by the council chairman, Justice Aloma Murkhtar.

The Justices are, Hamma Barka, Gombe; Joseph Jella, Taraba; Bitrus Sanga, Bauchi; Muhammed Mustapha, Borno;

Yargata Nimpar, Gombe and Sai’idiu Hussein, Kogi,

Others are, MUdashiru Oniyangi, Kwara; Amina Wambai, Niger; Ridwan Abdullahi, Nasarawa; Tani Hassan, Kano;

Muhammed Shuaibu, Jigawa; Musa Alkali, Kaduna; Jamilu Tukur, Katsina; Paul Elechi, Ebonyi and Ugochukwu

Ogakwu, Enugu.

Others are Nonyerem Okoronkwo,Imo; Joseph Ekanem, Akwa Ibom; F.E Oho, Delta; Abimbola Adejumo, Edo; Bolokuromo Ugo, Bayelsa; Biobele Geogewill, Rivers; Oludotun Adefope-okojie, Ogun; Misitura Bolaji-Yusuf, Oyo; J.O.K Oyewole, Osun; and E.O Williams-Dawudu, Lagos.

The statement said the appointment was in line with the new Court of Appeal Act as amended that stipulates an increase in the number of Justices of the Court from 70 to 90.

It said the appointment is also to fill the vacancies occasioned by the demise, retirement and elevation of some Justices of the Court.

The statement said the Justices are expected to be sworn-in on March 24 by Justice Mukhtar.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

NBA seeks justice for victims of herdsmen attacks

The Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) has asked the Federal Government to administer justice to victims of herdsmen attacks and convey the sense of equity to restore confidence among the people ...