Again, Nigerians vote today to elect governors, state assembly members

Nigerians today will vote to elect governors for 29 states and 991 members of Houses of Assembly.

The governorship election will not hold in seven states of the federation.

The affected states, Anambra, Bayelsa, Edo, Ekiti, Kogi, Ondo and Osun, will not be participating because their governorship elections held at different times or `off season’.

This was mainly due to court judgments that nullified the election of the state governors at different times in the past.

However, the State Houses of Assembly elections will be conducted in all the 36 states.

The FCT will not witness both elections because it is run by a minister, who is appointed by the President, with laws made by the National Assembly.

On the eve of the elections, the Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, assured Nigerians that the polls would be free and fair, while urging them to turn out massively.

He said that the commission had tackled the challenge of logistics and all materials for today’s elections had been delivered to all the local government areas.

In addition to elections into 1,082 constituencies nationwide, the commission will conduct supplementary elections in 14 states of the federation covering seven senatorial districts and 24 federal constituencies.

Security agencies have put all necessary machinery in place to ensure hitch-free elections, warning that trouble makers would be dealt with.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Edo poll: Atiku, Wike, Fintiri lead Obaseki’s re-election campaign

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on Friday announced the Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike, and his Adamawa State counterpart, Ahmadu Fintiri, as leaders of its campaign team for the Edo State Governorship election. ...