FG shops for replacements as 16 perm secs retire

Sixteen Federal Permanent Secretaries are due for retirement this year, the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation (HoCSF) Mrs Winifred Oyo-Ita said on Monday in Abuja.

She was speaking at the send-off ceremony for the Permanent Secretary Common Services Office, Office of the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation (OHCSF), Dr Saheed Yemi Adelakun, who retired after attaining the mandatory retirement age of 60.

While the details of the affected PS were not available as at the time of going to the press, Daily Trust reports that Adelakun’s retirement brings the number of the retired PS to four as, the PS Federal Ministry of Information and Culture Mrs Ayotunde Adesugba, also retired yesterday.

Her retirement was coming on the heels of that of Mrs Rabi Jimeta who retired in April as the PS Federal Ministry of Water Resources and that of Hajiya Jamila Shu’ara, who served in the Federal Ministry of Education and also petroleum resources.

“They have to retire in line with public service rule. Either they have spent 35 years in service or have reached the mandatory age of 6o, whichever comes first,” Oyo-Ita said.

“This 16 federal permanent secretaries, some of them have started retiring this year, others by the end of the year. Then there is the succession plan so the selection process of the permanent secretaries is ongoing.”

She urged workers to emulate the retired Adelakun, who was honoured by the HoCSF and other staff in the OHCSF and other senior civil servants, especially for the successes recorded under his watch as chairman of the Federal Integrated Staff Housing (FISH) scheme for federal workers. – Daily Trust.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Aisha Buhari shares videos of president’s critics

The wife of the President, Mrs. Aisha Buhari, may have tactically endorsed the position of some Nigerians who are criticising her husband, President Muhammadu Buhari ...