Gov. Abiodun appoints transition committees for Ogun LGs

Governor Dapo Abiodun of Ogun State, on Friday, appointed members of transition committees for the 20 local government councils in the state.

Mr Kunle Somorin, the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, announced this in a statement issued in Abeokuta, a copy of which was made available to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN).

The statement noted that the former council chairmen completed their tenures in October 2019, adding that “the new committees will be in place until the Ogun Electoral Commission (OGSEIC) conducts polls to elect new council chairmen”.

The Heads of Local Government Association (HOLGA) have, since October 2019, been directing the affairs in the various councils.

The statement added that members of the new committees were chosen “in furtherance of the government’s philosophy of inclusive and participatory governance”.

Each transition committee is composed of a Chairman, Vice -chairman, Secretary and two other members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Bauchi Emir reinstates Bello Kirfi as Waziri

The Emir of Bauchi, Dr Rilwanu Adamu, has reinstated the suspended Waziri of Bauchi, Alh. Bello Kirfi.