Coronavirus: Germany shuts borders with France, Switzerland, three others

Germany will partially close its borders with France, Switzerland, Austria, Luxembourg and Denmark as it steps up efforts to stem the spread of the new coronavirus.

Interior Minister Horst Seehofer said the new checks will take effect at 8 a.m. Monday.

People who commute across the border to work will still be able to cross, as will goods. However, people “without a valid reason to travel will no longer be allowed to enter and leave” Germany, added Seehofer.

The minister stressed that German citizens in the neighbouring countries will be allowed back in.

Germany had confirmed nearly 4,000 infections with the virus by Saturday, and authorities have reported 11 deaths.

Germany’s northern neighbour, Denmark, and eastern neighbours Poland and the Czech Republic already closed their own frontiers in recent days.

Germany also has borders with the Netherlands and Belgium, which are not affected. – Euronews.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

COVID variant Omicron risk very high – WHO warns

The World Health Organization warned Monday the new Covid-19 Omicron variant poses a “very high” risk globally, despite uncertainties about the danger and contagion levels of the new strain.