Ekiti Assembly passes bill for creation of 19 LCDAs

Ekiti State House of Assembly on Wednesday approved the creation of 19 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) in the state.

Governor Kayode Fayemi on Tuesday sent the bill for legislative consideration and possible passage into law.

The bill was unanimously passed at Wednesday’s plenary held in Ado-Ekiti and presided over by the Speaker, Rt Hon Funminiyi Afuye.

The proposed new LCDAs are Ado Central, Ado North, Ado West, Ajoni and Gbonyin.

Others are Ifeloju, Araromi, Ekameta, Ekiti South East and Ero.

The approved councils also included Ifedara, Ifesowapo, Igbara Odo/Ogotun, Ikere West and Ikole West.

The rest are Irede, Irewolede, Isokan and Okemesi.

Contributing at plenary, members that included, the Deputy Speaker, Rt. Hon. Hakeem Jamiu, APC, Irepodun/Ifelodun 2, the Majority Leader, Hon Gboyega Aribisogan and Hon. Ajibade Adeyemi, APC Moba 1, lauded the initiative.

Other members that included Hon. Yemisi Ayokunle, Ekiti South West 1, Hon. Stephen Aribasoye, Ikole 2, and Hon Tunde Idowu, Ikere 2 also appreciated Governor Kayode Fayemi for the executive bill.

Members of the Assembly were unanimous in their call for a speedy passage of the bill which amended the 2014 Principal law.

They observed that the initiative would further ensure the delivery of the dividend of democracy to the grassroots.

The lawmakers at the plenary also passed a bill for a law to provide for the management of funds of the Judiciary arm of government in Ekiti State.

The Judiciary Funds Management Bill is a bill for a law to provide for the management of funds of the Ekiti State Judiciary as entrenched in the autonomy granted the Judiciary in the 1999 constitution as amended.

Lawmakers including Hon. Akin Oso, Ido/Osi 1, Hon. Olajide Adegoke, Efon and Hon Olubunmi Adelugba, Emure said the passage of the bill would see to the implementation of Judiciary Autonomy in Ekiti State.

The Assembly also screened and confirmed members of the Ekiti State Audit Service Commission.

Those screened and confirmed are Mr Ayoola Owolabi, former Commissioner for Finance and Economic Development as Chairman,

Hon (Mrs) Cecilia Dada, Mr Kolawole Olanipekun and Mr Tope Adefila as members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Court orders Kontagora Emir to vacate Office

The newly-appointed Emir of Kontagora, Alhaji Muhammad Kontagora has been ordered to stop parading himself as the Seventh Emir of Kontagora by the Minna High Court.