Oyo APC adopts indirect primaries

Aspirants on the platform of the All Progressive Congress (APC) in the forthcoming 2019 general elections in Oyo state on Sunday failed to agree on consensus candidates for elective offices.

Before today’s meeting that lasted for many hours, there  was speculations that the governor of the state, Senator Abiola Ajimobi has succeeded in hand-picking his favorite candidate for the governorship election.

The endorsement followed a motion moved by Hon. Olaide Olalere, an aspirant for the post of House of Assembly seat for Ibadan North East state constituency and seconded by Mrs. Olarenwaju Otiti, an aspirant   for House of Reps for Ibadan North Federal Constituency.

The governor, Senator Abiola Ajimobi who presided over the meeting held at the Government House on Sunday attended by arrays of aspirants,  had advised the contestants to meet and decide on the modalities to be adopted in producing party’s flag bearers ahead of 2019 polls.

The governor said he would rather not want anyone to accuse him of imposing any candidate.

According to the aspirants, the decision to opt for indirect primaries was to avoid disunity among party members and high cost of direct primaries.

They further described direct primaries as very cumbersome.

The governor had given the open invitation to the aspirants during the Oyo Central Senatorial meeting held at Durban Stadium in Oyo town earlier in the week with the hope of cutting down the number of aspirants jostling for the governorship seat as well as discourage aspirants from wasting fund on purchasing nomination forms.

On Saturday, the governor met for about six hours with 26 governorship aspirants, where he urged the aspirants to explore the option of reaching for a consensus candidate but the aspirants could not agree among themselves.

Among dignitaries present at today’s meeting were Governor Abiola Ajimobi, the state APC Chairman, Chief Akin Oke, former Governor Adebayo Alao-Akala, ex-Senate Majority Leader, Teslim Folarin, and former Speaker of state House of Assembly, Hon. Asimiyu Alarape, amongst other


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Immigration at Lagos Airport stops 58 UK-bound doctors

The Nigerian Immigration Service (NIS) on Friday stopped 58 doctors from travelling to the United Kingdom at the Murtala Muhammed Airport, Lagos, Southwest Nigeria. ...