INEC declares Obaseki winner of Edo governorship election (Full results)

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday declared Governor Godwin Obaseki winner of the Edo State Governorship election which held on Saturday.

INEC’s Returning Officer, Prof. Akpofure Rim-Rukeh, announced the total result of the election on Sunday afternoon.

Obaseki polled 307,955 votes to defeat Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the APC who scored 223,619 votes.

Obaseki won in 13 of the 18 Local Government Areas of Edo State, while Ize-Iyamu won in five LGAs.

The governor even defeated Ize-Iyamu in his Orhionmwon Local Government. Obaseki got 13,445 votes, while Ize-Iyamu got 10,458, a margin of almost 3,000 votes.

The Returning Officer said having scored the highest number of votes in the election and met all constitutional requirements he declared Obaseki and his running mate Philip Shuaibu reelected as Governor and Deputy Governor respectively.

According to the Returning Officer,  557,443 persons were accredited for the election. Out of this figure, 540,342 people cast their votes. However 12,835 votes were rejected for various electoral infractions.

Fourteen political parties participated in the election. However it was clear from the beginning that it was a straight two-horse race between Obaseki and Ize-Iyamu.

Edo Governorship results at a Glance

AKOKO EDO 22,963 20,101
EGOR 10,202 27,621
ESAN CENTRAL 6,719 10,794
ESAN NORTH EAST 6,556 13,579
ESAN SOUTH EAST 9,237 10,563
ESAN WEST 7,189 17,434
ETSAKO CENTRAL 8,359 7,478
ETSAKO EAST 17,011 10,668
ETSAKO WEST 26,140 17,959
IGUEBEN 5,199 7,870
IKPOBA OKHA 18,218 41,030
OREDO 18,365 43,498
ORHIONMWON 10,458 13,445
OVIA NORTH EAST 9,907 16,987
OVIA SOUTH WEST 10,636 12,659
OWAN EAST 19,295 14,762
OWAN WEST 11,193 11,485
UHUNMWODE 5,972 10,022

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

NNPC to reconstruct 21 federal roads

The Federal Executive Council (FEC) has approved the reconstruction of 21 roads covering a total distance of 1,804.6 kilometres across the six geo-political zones.